EMC FLEX BLOG A site dedicated to Automotive EMC Testing for Electronic Modules

CAN Bus Standards

8. September 2015 09:19 by Christian in
There are several CAN physical layer and other standards: • ISO 11898-1: CAN Data Link Layer and Ph

There are several CAN physical layer and other standards:

ISO 11898-1: CAN Data Link Layer and Physical Signaling

ISO 11898-2: CAN High-Speed Medium Access Unit

ISO 11898-2 uses a two-wire balanced signaling scheme. It is the most used physical layer in car

Powertrain applications and industrial control networks.

ISO 11898-3: CAN Low-Speed, Fault-Tolerant, Medium-Dependent Interface

ISO 11898-4: CAN Time-Triggered Communication

ISO 11898-4 standard defines the time-triggered communication on CAN (TTCAN). It is based on the

CAN data link layer protocol providing a system clock for the scheduling of messages.

ISO 11898-5: CAN High-Speed Medium Access Unit with Low-Power Mode

ISO 11898-6: CAN High-speed medium access unit with selective wake-up functionality

ISO 11992-1: CAN fault-tolerant for truck/trailer communication

ISO 11783-2: 250 kbit/s, Agricultural Standard

ISO 11783-2 uses four unshielded twisted wires; two for CAN and two for terminating bias circuit

(TBC) power and ground. This bus is used on agricultural tractors. This bus is intended to provide

interconnectivity with any implementation adhering to the standard.

ISO 15765-2 also called ISO-TP, is a standard for flow control and handling of messages larger than eight bytes.

SAE J1939-11: 250 Kbit/s, Shielded Twisted Pair (STP)

SAE J1939-15: 250 Kbit/s, Unshielded Twisted Pair (UTP) (reduced layer)

The SAE J1939 standard uses a two-wire twisted pair, −11 has a shield around the pair while −15 does not. SAE 1939 defines also application data and is widely used in heavy-duty (truck) and autobus industry as well as in agricultural & construction equipment.

SAE = Society of Automotive Engineers; NMEA = National Marine Educators Association; SDS = Smart Distributed System